DWI is a serious charge in Missouri. If you have been charged with DWI in Kansas City, are facing a serious matter. Every aspect of your life could be negatively impacted. You will face both administrative and criminal penalties if convicted of DWI. These are penalties that will impact you personally, professionally, and socially on multiple levels. If you are facing DWI charges in Kansas City, you need to retain the services of an experienced Kansas City DWI attorney from Hollingshead and Dudley. We will fight for you, building a strong defense and helping you get back on the road after an alcohol-related driving charge in Missouri. Call our Kansas City office at 816-224-9500 today to schedule a free consultation with one of our experienced Kansas City DWI attorneys.
What are the Different Penalties You Could Face for a Kansas City DWI Conviction?
If you are convicted of DWI in Kansas City on the first offense, it will be considered a Class B Misdemeanor. Your
Missouri driving record will get 8 points added for your first conviction. You could even be sentenced to up to six months in jail and face up to $500 in fines. You will also face a 30-day driver’s license suspension followed by 60 days of restricted driving. These specific consequences apply only if are you considered an adult of legal drinking age, which is 21 or older in Missouri. If you are a minor and were drinking underage, your driver’s license will have a 90-day suspension for a first conviction.
When facing a second conviction for DWI in Kansas City, the penalties are worse. You will be labeled a prior offender and charges will be upgraded to a Class A Misdemeanor. Your driver’s license will have 12 points added to it. You will spend at least five days in jail unless the court approves you doing a minimum of 30 days community service instead of a period of incarceration. You could face as long as a year in jail, and your driving privileges face a year revocation indefinitely. The court will also fine you up to $1,000 for your crime. If your last conviction has been within the last five years, you will have a license denial for five years. You will be required to complete 30 days of community service in order to be eligible for probation. To get your driving privileges back, you will have to pass both parts of the Missouri Driving Test, which includes driving and written portions. The judge can also require that you have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for up to a month to ensure you don’t drink and drive.
If you are facing additional DWI charges, such as your third conviction or higher, the charges will escalate to the status of Class D Felony. You are then declared to be a persistent offender. Your Missouri driving record will have 12 points added to it. You are required to spend at least ten days in jail unless the court allows you to perform community service for at least 60 days instead of the jail time. You could be required to spend up to four years in jail for your DWI conviction. Your fines could be as much as $5,000. Depending on your convictions and your BAC, you could face 10-year license denial. To be eligible for probation, you will have to complete at least 60 days of community service. The court will require you to successfully complete both parts of the Missouri Driving Test before your license is reinstated.
What Else is Involved With Kansas City DWI Convictions or any Alcohol-Related Driving Charge?
DWI convictions don’t end there. You will be required to pay out the required fines along with any reinstatement fees associated with your case. Before your license is reinstated, you will also have to complete the Substance Abuse Traffic Offender program that has been established for the state. If your BAC is beyond a specified level, you might be required to complete an intervention program that lasts for a weekend geared toward alcohol-related driving charge education. This intensive program is designed to make drivers aware of the consequences of driving while intoxicated.
The financial consequences of a DWI in Kansas City are severe. You will face fines for your conviction, and those fines can range from $500 to $5,000. If your license is revoked or suspended, you most likely won’t be able to get to work, and you will lose your job. Your auto insurance will go up, and you can be forced to pay out thousands of dollars in penalties because you will have to file an SR-22. An overwhelming stigma will haunt you as well. If you caused an accident while driving intoxicated, you would be responsible for the injuries or loss of life. That can be a significant financial expense, and you will be feeling guilt for the rest of your life. Jail time and the conviction will haunt you for years to come.
What are the Financial Costs That I Can Expect to Pay Out for a Kansas City DWI Charge?
Your charges for a Kansas City DWI conviction can mount quickly. You will face fines up to $5,000. You will pay for any substance abuse programs, rehabilitation programs, or intervention programs that are ordered by the court. You will have costs to reinstate your driver’s license. Your car insurance premiums will increase, and you will also have to pay the fees associated with filing an SR-22. You won’t be able to drive, so you will have transportation expenses such as hiring a taxi or paying for Uber or public transportation. If you don’t pay for transportation, you will lose your job. If your irresponsible actions caused an accident, you are responsible for the injuries that resulted. You will also suffer immense guilt and be followed by the stigma of being a convicted DWI offender. You will also pay court costs and have to retain an attorney and also pay the legal fees associated with that. However, without a lawyer, your expenses can add up much higher for an alcohol-related driving charge. If you are facing Kansas City DWI charges, you should consult with an experienced DWI attorney at Hollingshead and Dudley Trial Lawyers right away.
Will I Need To Go To Missouri Traffic School if Convicted of Kansas City DWI?
If you have been charged and convicted of DWI in Missouri, you might be ordered to take a defensive driving course. Traffic school will give you a refresher course on driving safety, so you will be aware of the consequences and the seriousness of driving while intoxicated. During this course, you will be reminded of the dangers of driving while under the influence of alcohol. There is an added expense for taking traffic school, but it might be necessary to get your license reinstated.
What Help Can a Kansas City DWI Attorney Provide?
When faced with Kansas City DWI charges, you need the guidance of experienced legal counsel. A Kansas City DWI lawyer can help you fight the charges you are facing and impact your punishment. DWI convictions are costly to those who are convicted on many levels. You will face financial consequences, and your life will be affected on many levels, including professionally and socially. One of our experienced Kansas City DWI attorneys at Hollingshead and Dudley can help you get your life back on track. We understand that breathalyzers aren’t always accurate and that sometimes people are wrongfully charged. Our legal team knows the ins and outs of Missouri DWI charges, so you want us on your side fighting for you if you are facing an alcohol-related driving charge. Call our Kansas City office at 816-224-9500 to schedule a free case evaluation today.