The penalties for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Kansas City are significant. You can lose your license, have to pay a range of fines, and serve jail time. Depending on if this is your first, second or third offense, you are subject to multiple penalties. A Kansas City DWI occurs when you are over the limit for alcohol consumption. This means that you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) that is .08 percent or higher. This is illegal for anyone that is 21 years old and older.
If you are under 21, the BAC level drops to .02 percent. Those that have a commercial driver’s license receive a lower BAC level of .04 percent.
While the costs of getting a DWI are vast and extensive, the monetary expenses are costly. For a first offense Kansas City DWI, you are facing a fine of up to $500. This amount doubles for a second offense and could be as much as $1000.
When charged with a third offense of Kansas City DWI, you pay up to $5000 in fines.
Keep in mind there are also court costs that factor into your monetary expenses and add to the total penalties you have to pay. You will also have to pay for license reinstatement and other surcharges as the court deems necessary to your DWI case.
How Long Will I Lose My License for a Kansas City DWI?
You will automatically lose your driver’s license for a Kansas City DWI regardless if it is your first offense or third. How long you lose your license for and what type of driver’s privileges you will have depends on if it is your first DWI offense or you were charged with multiple offenses in the past.
Your first offense of Kansas City DWI results in a 30-day suspension of your driver’s license. This will also include 60 days of restricted driving privileges.
A second offense DWI causes you to lose your driver’s license for a period of one year and will also result in a restricted driver’s license after the suspension period.
For a third offense Kansas City DWI, the cost of losing your driver’s license is more severe. Suspension of your license occurs for 10 years.
Will I Have to Get an Ignition Interlock Device for a Kansas City DWI?
In some instances, you will have to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. While it is mandatory for a third offense, second and first offenses occur at the judge’s discretion.
It is also possible to have an ignition interlock device ordered for installation in your vehicle if you refuse to take a BAC test. Even if it is your first offense of arrest for a DWI, an ignition interlock device occurs as a penalty. It is a requirement in a second and third offense. This is, in addition, to loss of your driving privileges for refusing the BAC test.
Will I Go to Jail for a Kansas City DWI?
Jail time can occur if a Kansas City DWI regardless if it is your first offense or multiple arrests for the crime. In a first offense DWI charge, sentencing occurs for to up to six months in jail. A second offense raises up to a full year, and a third offense could be as much as four years in jail.
Having a Kansas City DWI attorney in a DWI case is imperative as they can work to help get your jail time reduced. There is the possibility in Kansas City to have a DWI charge reduced to a careless and imprudent driving charge. A lawyer for your DWI case can advise you if a lower charge is possible and let you know what your legal rights are under the law.
Will I Have to Go to Alcohol & Drug Classes for a Kansas DWI?
The judge in your case can order you to undergo a drug and alcohol assessment at your cost for a Kansas City DWI. They can also make it mandatory that you attend a drug and alcohol treatment program. Attending these programs is required for a third offense DWI charge, but can be beneficial to help treat and educate you on the effects of drugs and alcohol.
How Long Does a Kansas City DWI Stay On My Record?
In Kansas City, a DWI will stay on your record for five years. There is a five-year lookback period considered for a second or third offense if you are arrested again for a DWI charge during this time period. If five years have passed from your first offense of DWI in Kansas City, it will be considered your first offense of DWI again and charged according to the penalties for a first offense.
While the law in Kansas City only goes back five years, you may live with this on your record much longer if this is your third offense. A DWI charge for a third offense is considered a felony and can significantly impact your life with this type of criminal charge on your record.
A felony stays on your record for life and affects your ability to get a job, find housing, and vote. You can also be deported as a result of a felony charge on your record if you are not a natural citizen of the U.S.
Multiple offenses of DWI on your record also make for increased insurance premiums. Insurance companies typically have longer look back periods than the state law, and a DWI charge on your record could cost you financially for many years.
Consult with a DWI Attorney in Kansas City, Missouri
When arrested for a Kansas City DWI, you need the help of an attorney you can trust. Rely on the DWI lawyers at Hollingshead & Dudley to help fight your case. They advise you on what your rights are under the law and guide you on presenting your case before the court. They work to get you lower penalties and will help you find justice in your case. Contact us today to set up a consultation.