Driving offenses associated with driving while intoxicated or DWI in Kansas City, Missouri, are taken very seriously. You can face severe criminal and administrative consequences for these actions. The type of consequences you will face depend on your age, your profession, your history of similar offenses, and your BAC. For instance, the BAC or blood alcohol content limit for individuals over the age of 21 is .08%. For those who are under the age of 21, the limit is .02%. For commercial vehicle drivers, the limit is .04%. The consequences faced by each of these groups will be different.
Legal Actions Taken Against DWI Drivers Over the Age of 21 in Kansas City, Missouri
Individuals who are over the age of 21 and found to have a BAC greater than .08% while driving will be charged with a Class B Misdemeanor. A criminal conviction will then result in as much as six months in jail and as much as $500 in fines. On an administrative level, you will get eight points on your driving record and an automatic suspension of your license for 30 days.
If you are convicted of a second offense within five years, then you will be charged with a Class A Misdemeanor, and you could end up spending as much as one year in prison and as much as $1K in fines. The administrative actions will include 12 points on your driving record and a revoked license for one year. However, when the situation involves a multiple convictions within a five year period, then you could have your license denied for five years.
If you are convicted of a third offense within ten years, then you will be charged with a Class D Felony. This can lead to as much as five years in prison and as much as $5K in fines. Like the second offense, you will get another 12 points on your license, and it will be revoked for at least one year. Your license can then be denied for a period of ten years, after which you must get a circuit court order to reinstate.
By the time you get to your fourth offense, you are considered to be an aggravated offender, and you are charged with a Class C Felony. This kind of conviction will put you in prison for as much as seven years with as much as $5K in fines. It also puts another 12 points on your driving record, and a license revocation for one year. This kind of charge also occurs in cases where a DWI driver harms someone through their intoxicated driving behavior.
If you are convicted for a fifth time for a DWI in Kansas City, Missouri, then your conviction will be a Class B Felony conviction. You will be in imprisoned for at least five years and as much as 15 years. You will then face the same 12 points and one year of license revocation. You can face similar charges for causing the death of someone else through driving while intoxicated or for assaulting an officer.
Further, if you are convicted of any charges involving the possession or use of drugs while driving, then you can have your license revoked for one year for this also.
Legal Actions Taken Against DWI Drivers Under the Age of 21 in Kansas City, Missouri
Many people think that they will not face serious consequences for crimes that are committed while they are a minor. The reality is that if you are under the age of 21, then the laws are more strict concerning your BAC, and you will still face harsh penalties. Any kind of alcohol related offense, even if it does not involve driving, can result in two points against your driving record and the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. Some examples include cases where a minor attempts to purchase alcohol, is in possession of drugs or alcohol, or has a BAC of .02%. The first conviction will lead to 30 days license suspension. The second conviction will lead to 90 days license revocation. The third conviction and all further convictions will lead to a one year license revocation. However, this is not necessarily written in stone, the court could decide that you should have your license suspended for 90 days with your very first conviction and one year for your second conviction. Depending on the case, you may even face some of the very same penalties that adults over the age of 21 years face.
Legal Actions Taken Against Commercial Vehicle Drivers with DWI Charges in Kansas City, Missouri
Commercial vehicle drivers include those with commercial driver licenses (CDLs) who are driving commercial vehicles for any purpose. The BAC limit for commercial vehicle drivers are .04%. Any DWI conviction in Kansas City, Missouri, against a commercial vehicle driver who is charged with a DWI will result in two points on the driving record and being barred from driving commercial vehicles for one year. From the moment that you are arrested, there will be an out of service order issued that will remain in effect for the next 24 hours.
In cases where a commercial vehicle driver is transporting hazardous materials at the time of their DWI, the penalty will include being barred for three years from commercial vehicle driving. This is only for the first offense, however. Once you are convicted for a second time, you will not be allowed to drive commercial vehicles for the rest of your life. Naturally, this kind of conviction can be life altering for a commercial vehicle driver and it needs to be taken seriously. You can also face the same penalties that are associated with DWI drivers over the age of 21.
Don’t Take Chances With Your Driving Record in Kansas City, Missouri
It is important to understand the severity of the charges when you are facing a DWI in Kansas City, Missouri. Call Hollingshead & Dudley Trial Lawyers to learn more about your rights and what you need to do next to minimize the damage that a DWI can cause in your life. Our experienced DWI lawyer in Kansas City, Missouri can help you with your claim!