Driving while intoxicated is illegal in Kansas City. You can be arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. While your first offense for a Kansas City DWI will cost your driving privileges, getting multiple DWIs results in a felony charge on your record.
In Kansas City, a third offense of a DWI is considered a felony. This costs you severely and will affect your life going forward. Having a felony on your record can affect your ability to obtain employment and could potentially take away your voting rights.
If charged with a Kansas City DWI, you need to seek the assistance of an attorney. They will represent you in court and work to get you the minimum penalties for your offense.
A first and second offense of a DWI charge is not considered a felony. There is a five-year lookback period in Kansas City. If your second offense of a DWI occurs with five years of your first offense, it is charged according to the penalties for a second offense. Your third offense occurs in the same manner.
What is the Cost of a Kansas City DWI?
While no one wants to get arrested and charged with a felony, a third-time offense of a Kansas City DWI can also be a costly endeavor. If arrested for a DWI a third time, you are looking at a costly fine, loss of driving privileges, and time in jail.
The fine penalty for a third offense could be upwards of $5000. This does not take into account the amount you would have to pay for court costs, legal expenses, insurance premiums, and alcohol assessment and classes.
The court determines your penalty depending on the egregiousness of your Kansas City DWI and will levy a fine accordingly. A Kansas City DWI attorney helps to fight for a lower fine penalty and reduced time in jail.
The first offense of a DWI charge will cost you up to $500. A second offense could cost up to $1000. This is in addition to the series of other expenses that can add up because of a DWI charge.
Will I Have to Go to Jail for a Kansas City DWI?
Unfortunately, the law states that time will be served for a third time Kansas City DWI charge. While jail time occurs for both a first and second offense, a third offense of DWI is significant in its possible jail time sentence.
If charged with a third-offense of DWI, you have the possibility of serving up to four years in jail. While this is the maximum penalty for a multiple driving while intoxicated offenses, there is a possibility of receiving the maximum penalty depending on the events of your arrest.
The first offense of a Kansas City DWI could result in up to six months in jail while a second offense faces up to a year in jail.
A Kansas City DWI lawyer can help plead your case for a third offense of a DWI. This may reduce the amount of time that you are to serve in jail as well as the amount of fine that you pay.
Do I Have to Get an Ignition Interlock Device for a Kansas City DWI?
Having multiple DWI charges requires the installation of an ignition interlock system on your vehicle. This device is used to measure your BAC every time you start your car as well as while you are driving. This will require you to blow into the device to start your car and to keep it running as you drive.
If alcohol is present in your system, the ignition interlock device will not allow your car to operate. This information received is reported when you have the data from the device checked each month.
If arrested for the third time Kansas City DWI you will have to have the device installed into your car. It is also possible to have an ignition interlock device placed in your vehicle for a first and second DWI offense. There is a charge to have the device in your vehicle and to have it maintained on a monthly basis.
Will I Lose My License for a Kansas City DWI?
No matter if it is your first arrest for a Kansas City DWI or your third, you will lose your license for the offense. A first time DWI charge results in the revoking of your driving privileges for 30 days. A second offense DWI has driving privileges lost for one year.
With a third offense of a DWI in Kansas City, you will lose your driver’s license for 10 years. This is a significant penalty to undergo as you will have to rely on others to drive you and it could impact your employment if you drive for a living.
What If I Refuse a BAC Test for a Kansas City DWI?
In Kansas City, there is an implied consent law that imposes a fine and suspension of driving privileges if you refuse to take a chemical test when you are arrested for a DWI. If this is the first time that you have been pulled over for a DWI offense and you refuse to submit to the BAC test, you will lose your license for one year.
Second and third offenses that refuse BAC testing will result in the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle as well as loss of your license for one year. A fine could occur for your refusal to take the BAC test.
When arrested for Kansas City DWI, you need the help of an attorney on your side. A Kansas City lawyer will advise you on your legal rights and assist you in understanding the possible penalties for your DWI charges. Allow the attorneys at Hollingshead & Dudley to represent your case. They will fight for your justice and work to get you reduced penalties for your charges. Contact us today for a consultation.